UNC Has Recruit With Greatest Name Of All Time Commit To Football Team

What a fantastic, all time great name to have. Are you kidding me? Storm Duck! That’s an incredible name, and I can’t stop thinking about the circumstances, in which Storm’s parents came up with the name. I’m guessing you want me to tell you my own fictional account of how I think Storm Duck got his name? Fine, I’ll tell you.

Thunder can be heard in the background. Dick and Deborah Duck sit in the delivery room waiting for a nurse to bring in their newborn son. The door opens and to Deborah & David Duck’s surprise it’s not a nurse who walks in, but a janitor.

Thunder sounds in the background.

JANITOR

Storms brewing.

The JANITOR stands in the threshold for way longer than he should have. He swiftly turn’s out of the room like a member of the Temptations busting back into the dance line after a soul wrenching solo. DEBROAH & DICK look to one another in disbelief.

Just as DAVID is about to break the silence in the room, the NURSE walks in, holding their son.

NURSE

Look who’s here.

The NURSE passes the BABY over to DEBROAH who appears exhausted from being in labor for many hours. DEBROAH looks down with the type of fondness only a mother could express. DICK is hunched over also looking down at the BABY, but his expression is more like that of a man who just bought a new car, boat, or house etc.

DICK

What should we call him, honey?

DEBROAH

I’m not sure.

Thunder sounds. Lightening strikes and send’s a brief glow into the delivery room, as if the light bulbs were flickering.

DICK

Holy cow, babe– I’ve got it.

DEBROAH

What is it, honey?

DICK

Let’s call him, Truck–Truck Duck, now that’s badass.

DEBROAH

Um, I don’t think so.

Thunder strike’s so loud that it seems the delivery room is shaking.

DICK

I know what I want to name my boy. It’s been in front of my face this entire time.

DEBROAH

Spit it out the then!

DICK

Doctor Duck. Shoot, we’re in a hospital, and we want him to have good career. Let’s make it easy for him to pick a career.

DEBROAH

I think you’re over tired, dear.

Thunder shakes the room again.

DEBROAH

(CONT.)

That storm is just rip roaring with all sorts of fury.

DICK

Sure is– Just like my boy– Came into this world like a storm, and conjured one up just to prove it.

DICK & DEBROAH both look at each other like a light bulb went off.

DICK & DEBROAH

Storm!

DICK

Holy shit, honey. Storm Duck– yeah–that’s my boy. He’s coming in with the lightening and the thunder–wait–is it too late to name him dragon? Like my favorite band Imagine Dragons– Awww, screw it! My boy is named after the crashing thunder, the whispering winds; the lightening that cracks the heavens. Shoot, Hun, you think he’ll be President?

DEBROAH

He just might, honey. He just might.

DICK looks off into the distance with pride. He’s envisioning texting his vote in for Super Bowl MVP. He’s picturing texting 767DUCK to cast his vote.

CLOSE-DICK

A small tear falls from the corner of his right eye. A smile begins to form.

END SCENE

That’s how Storm Duck future President/Super Bowl MVP got his name if you ask me. A strong name goes a long way in this life. Long story short UNC just nabbed a player with a cool name who play’s DB so the chances of winning Super Bowl MVP just went down big time. Then again with a name like Storm I wouldn’t put it past him to grab 5 Interceptions. I wouldn’t bet against a guy named Storm Duck.

 

Leave a comment